Snagov Monastery tour
||Snagov Monastery - Snagov lake
||Bucharest city tour - Snagov Village - Snagov Monastery - Bucharest
| - 6 hours;
- transport Bucharest - Snagov - Bucharest by car/minibus/bus;
- transport by boat to the Monastery;
- entrance fees;
- private English or French guide;
| The tour starts from Bucharest ( pick-up from the hotel), continue with a short city tour, with the following: Romanian Athenaeum, The Art Museum, Romanian Opera, Cotroceni Palace, Saint Elefterie Church, Tha Parliament House, The Patriarchal Church, Manuc Inn, Bucharest University, Victoria palace, Triumph Arch, Village Museum.
On request we can make a reservation at the Parliament Palace (Ceausescu's House) for 40 minutes - 1 hour visit.
In the way to Snagov Monastery you can see Bucharest Baneasa Airport (for domestic flights), Bucharest Otopeni airport (for international flights).
Arriving at Snagov after 45 minutes. Transport by small boat to the monastery. After one hour visit we leave Snagov and come back to Bucharest. Drop-off at the hotel.
(Male monastic community, 3 resident monastics, cenobitic comunity)
Patronal Feast: "Presentation of the Mother of God to the Temple"
Location: The Village of Silistea Snagovului, the Commune of Gruiu, The County of Ilfov (The monastic establishmentis situated at a distance of 40 km from bucharest).
Directions: Highway: Take DN 1 (E15) Bucharest, and drive to the north - Ciolpani (35 km) - then turn right, take DL, and drive to Silistea Snagovului (8 km). Railroad: Caciulata and Bucharest-Snagov (on week-end only).
Abbot: Protosyngelos Emilian Poenaru.
The monastic establishment is located on a small island of Snagov Lake. It was first founded in the fourteenth century by Mircea cel Batran Voivode, and then it was refoundedby Vladislav II Voivode and Vlad Tepes Voivode in the fifteenth century. The present-day Church building was constructed during the reign of Neagoe basarabwithin the years1517 and 1521.
Its architectural style follows the architectural pattern that is characteristic of the monasteries that are situated on the Holy Mount Athos. The church of the monastery was painted under the earnestcare of Petru cel Tanar ( Peter the Young)Voivode in the year 1563. Bearing evident marks of reconditioning works, the paintings constitute the greatast mural complex to befound inall the Orthodox hurch buildings of Romania - as Vasila Dragut informa us - and were executed in all prbabilityby Mater Dobromir cel Tanar ( the Young).
Beginning with 1840, here, in the monastery there were exiled a lot of people who had been persecuted by Romania's rulers:; they died and were interredwithin the monastery grounds. The holy establishment also playeda significant cultural role, since, as is known, the printing house set up by Antim Ivireanul functioned on the monastic premises after the monastery had undergone extensive repairs and restoration works during the reign of constantin Brancoveanu Voivode.
After the secularization process which took place in the nineteenth century, all the monastic cells were pulled down with the exception of the church building - which, being vacated, gradually decayed. the church building underwent another round of extensiverepairs and restoration works, first in 1904 and later on in 1936. Susequesnt renovation activities were carried out on the orders of the Committee for Historical Monumants, staring in 1941 and ending in 1953. In 1966, His Beatitude, the late Patriarch Justinian, initiated further renovation activities.
MONASTERIES CLOSE TO BUCHAREST:
- Caldarusani Monastery;
- Tiganesti Monastery;
- Pasarea Monastery;
- cernica Monastery.
MONASTERIES IN BUCHAREST:
- Antim Monastery;
- Casin Monastery.